Procedures

Guest Access in Blackboard - Procedures

Printer-friendly version
Body

1.  Purpose and Objectives

This procedure aims to describe the guest access requirement to those staff responsible for the administration and use of Blackboard course sites. 

2.  Definitions, Terms, Acronyms

Course Sites - Individual Blackboard sites allocated to each SI-net course.

Guest Access - Limited default access UQ staff and students have to all University Blackboard course sites.

System level - The configuration settings that apply to the entire Blackboard system.

Site Level - The configuration settings for each specific site in Blackboard, which are set at the time of course creation, and are the same for all new courses.

Content level - The configuration settings for each particular content area within the individual course sites.  These settings are set by default but can be changed by the course instructors.

3.  Procedures Scope/Coverage

This procedure outlines the guest access requirements within a blackboard course site and any steps required to meet these. This applies to any teaching or delegated administrative staff responsible for the administration and use of blackboard course sites.

4.  Procedures Statement

All sites in Blackboard must have specific guest access settings enabled for all University staff and students.  The required settings are configured by default in all newly created Blackboard course sites.  The guest access requirement is limited to learning materials and resources only; collaborative content or assessment information must remain unavailable to guests. 

Permission to change the default settings must be sought from the relevant Associate Dean (Academic). 

Guest Access may be turned off at the course level with permission from the Deputy Vice -Chancellor (Academic).  This may occur where it is deemed that there is a risk to copyright or information security.

4.1 Guest access default settings

System level – Guest Access is on in Blackboard at the system level.

Site level - Instructor or support staff can control guest access at the individual course site level.  It is turned on by default at this level during the site creation process.

Content Areas - Instructor or support staff control guest access at the content area level.  Guest access is turned on by default at this level for the following content areas:

  • Announcements 

  • Electronic Course Profile (ECP)

  • Learning Resources

4.2 Viewing course sites in the guest role

All authenticated UQ staff or students can locate any Blackboard course site using the search tool when logged into Blackboard. Courses can be searched by subject code or description.

4.3 Copyright

Course instructors must ensure that visible content meets University copyright requirements. Some copyright usage permissions may restrict access to enrolled course students only.

In this circumstance the instructor may elect to create a new private content area to host copyright restricted material, or request altered permissions for existing content areas.  Staff can access legal advice regarding copyright via the UQ Copyright website.

 4.4 Privacy

Course instructors must ensure that private student information cannot be viewed by guests to their course site. Student information, grades, assessment attempts or communications must not be located in the content areas available to guests.

 4.5 Assessment material

Course instructors must ensure that assessment material is not available to guests (eg. not uploaded to the Learning Resources content area). 

4.6 Instructions for configuring guest access availability

Tools:

  1. In the Control Panel choose: Customisation - Tool Availability;

  2. Set or unset the ‘Visible to Guests’ checkbox for each tool;

  3. A grayed out box indicated that guest access is not available for this tool.

Content areas:

  1. In the Course Menu at the top left of the course screen click on the drop down arrow next to your menu item;

  2. ‘Deny guests’ indicates that guest access is already available to that item. Select ‘Deny guests’ to prevent guests from accessing that content area.

  3. ‘Allow guests’ indicates that guest access is not yet available to that item. Select ‘Allow guests’ to allow guests to access that content area.

Custodians
Chief Information Officer
Mr Rob Moffatt
Custodians
Chief Information Officer
Mr Rob Moffatt